UX beginner - What is UX?

Hi everyone in the UX community,
I am a complete beginner diving into the world of UX.
From what I understand so far, many people define to be a really broad field with, virtually, no real limits as to what kind of User experience we are talking about - it could be a user’s experience while using an app, on a website, or say walking through a museum?

First, is this true?

Second, most real-world applications of the term UX are in the tech field (apps/websites mainly) - at least from what I have seen so far (which is not much).

So, I want to better understand what UX is. What is it that we are really talking about… if it’s not just UX of apps and websites, can you please give (detailed, if possible) examples of something else.

How much of it is to do with taking surveys…
Is it related to Public Relations (PR) or Cusomer Relationship Management (CRM) - the latter seems, intuitively, more related but then since UX is mostly tied with UI, I feel like UX peeps don’t really do a lot of CRM…

User Experience - definitely sounds like something I am interested in. Just want to what all it could entail - practically.

Thanks folks,

Cheers!

1 Like

You might want to read this:

UX, is user experience. It can be part of Business Analysis or in recent years there are more jobs asking for UX designers. A user experience in Business Analyst terms would be called a use case, which is basically a story. Listening the user (usually a stakeholder and or sponsor) and designing the software based around these stories. When you define all the use cases (stories) into requirements, they are agreed upon and given a business requirement number. Its encompasses many things but to focus on how the user wants to interact with the software is one example.