Talking UX

I am new to UX and have tried to digest as much info on the subject as I can. I am stuck. I am having a hard time translating all of the info into actually doing a UX project of my own. I may be over thinking it. The few sites I have asked general questions on ask that I be more specific. I feel I just need someone to talk through all the non specifics. I requested membership to a UX chat room on slack designer hangout I think it was weeks ago and haven’t heard back. I can see where a mentor could help but I don’t have resources for a paid service and don’t know anyone specific to ask. Any thoughts? Thanks

I know you said that you just want to talk through the non-specifics, but are you getting stuck on anything a little more specific than UX in general?

It’s harder to give a valuable answer with some action items that you can apply on a project without being a little more specific. :slight_smile:

A couple examples of a specific topic could be:

• User testing
  • Wireframes
  • User flows
  • Personas
  • Research

Do you have a project that you are working on and hoping to apply some UX principles to or are you just wanting to create a project for practice?

Thanks for the repsonse. I am considering trying UX principles on VBS (vacation Bible school) 1 week event 600 kids 200 volunteers. One person told me to survey, to then affinity map, then make persona’s.
My questions are

Is this a good event for UX.

What are good questions to ask

I know what affinity maps do but not exactly how to use here

What can I hope to contribute when I present this to the leadership

Like I said I have seen and heard a bunch but just talking through the process and what the goal may be would be helpful.