Request help for an oral report

Hey folks,

As you know, my background isn’t in UX. I’m in college right now and I’m going to do an oral report on UX. I’ve got a general idea of what I’d like to do but I figured I’d come to you to ask for some input.

What would you tell people who are completely unfamiliar with UX?

Thanks!

PS - Plus, this will help me deepen my understanding. I’m full of impostor syndrome because I’m learning UX as I go.

1 Like

Great question.

As far as definitions go, I’d say that UX is everything that affects a user’s interaction with a product.

I think the biggest myth to dispel these days is that UX isn’t just about digital products – it applies to everything.

3 Likes

I will tell you what I told my mum when she asked me the same question.

The UX is a kind of umbrella. Under this umbrella, there are several activities, acting to fit the business goals to the user behaviours.

Still, she prefers to say to the people asking her about my job “he does stuff with his computer”

1 Like

Thank you both!

I think I’m not alone in that every time I tell someone that I’m a UX Engineer, I’m usually met with a blank stare followed up by the question, “okay, what does that mean?”

I usually tell people that UX professionals seek to define and solve problems. For me, that means that I work to make my company’s stock trading and client management website as simple and user-friendly as possible.

I’m a big believer that the best UX professionals can come from any walk of life, so long as they are passionate about problem solving and have an unquenchable thirst for knowledge of the profession. I’m sure y’all are bored of hearing me beat that drum time and again, but it’s so true.

In the end, we are all apprentices in a craft where no one has ever become a master. No one knows everything about UX-- even some of the best minds in our industry often disagree over some of the fundamental building blocks of our practice.