Questions About UX Research From an Undergrad

Greetings Ux research community nice to meet you. I apologize in advance if these questions seem kinda basic.

I’m getting ready to enter my sophomore year of college in a few days and am really interested in pursuing a career in UX research. During the 3 years that I have left as an undergrad I was planning on doing a handful of courses on Linkedin, Coursera, and maybe even doing the google certificate program on UX/UI design to have better foundational knowledge. Although in all honesty, I’m still unsure about starting the google certificate program as I know it’s geared toward design a bit more. I also planed on approaching a few professors about research assistant positions in my school’s psychology department to help my resume. That’s about all I’ve been able to come up with so far and was hoping if you guys had any advice on anything else I could do as an undergrad? I also happened to be majoring in communications with a minor in psychology and was wondering if this would be a good background to have when pursuing a career in UX research? Or if I should do a complete 180 and major in psychology or cognitive science?

My last question was about obtaining a master’s in HCI. I know everyone’s paths are different and there’s no cookie-cutter format to going into UX research but would you say boot camps such as GA could be substituted for masters in HCI? The only reason I ask this question is that the tuition for grad programs seem so expensive and I noticed a lot of people on Linkedin getting hired as UX researchers after completing some sort of boot camp but I’m not sure if boot camps are meant for people who are pivoting in there careers and already have some professional experience or if it’s geared towards everyone or if you think it’s possible to get hired after finishing undergrad? I would really appreciate hearing some of your guy’s thoughts and advice. Thank you

5 Likes