Prototyping

Hello everyone!

I am a newbie in UX and am currently studying prototyping. While learning tools like Axure is easy, the actual prototyping is not. I want to build some portfolio but I don’t know what should I show on my prototypes.

I built a prototype of a small collaboration tool like Basecamp or something. I want to ask you to look at this prototype and tell me, what is not good with it. I am primarily interested in feedback on a prototype itself, like should I make links blue, should I add notes to some elements, etc. But I will be thankful for any comments. Maybe you can share some prototypes so I can see what it looks like when done right.

Prototype link: http://www.5mbytes.com/ux/teamwork/

By the way, I also will be happy to hear some general advice on how to build a good portfolio that will help me to find an internship or first job.

Hey 5mbytes,
Welcome to the community.

I have had a look at your prototype and while I’m definitely not a UX expert, it looks like a really great start to me. It is clear and intuitive. If I was to give you any feedback it would be to consider getting someone to English edit the content for you. I envy anyone that speaks another language because I don’t, but I think that if you’re selling to and English speaking audience then slick content is pretty important.

Regarding portfolios, this article offers some handy advice.

I’m going to send some real UXers this way to give you some advice. Best of luck with your portfolio.

Hello,

Great start :slight_smile:

I had a look at your prototype and I have a question. Do I have to ‘login’ before I can see a demo? I would prefer to see that before parting with my personal details.

I also think the landing page would benefit from some sort of navigation. Don’t rely on that side bar that Axure provides to show you how you’ve structured your files - that’s all it’s for.