Need suggestions on UX vs UI designing

Hi All,

I am here because I am currently lost and very confused about my career. I am working as a UX designer in my organisation, where my work is not great. I get requirements and I just work on the changes on existing changes and produce prototypes, which is not very great. I want to work on pure UX side which will help me grow more in this area. In my current location, currently UX designing is not very well understood and hence organisations are looking for UX + UI design experience. I am not sure which way to head, as I am not getting any new learning in my current work and I am not getting any opportunity outside as I am not versed with latest UI dev technologies anymore (I used to work as a developer long ago). I need suggestions on what should be my thought process to move on to have a better career.

Thanks,
Rich.

Hey @richab – welcome to UXMastery. :slight_smile:

Interesting challenge. Good on you for seeking advice. I’ll send some experienced people this way to see what we can help you figure out.

Thanks HAWK :slight_smile:
It will really help getting some advice from experts.

Hi Rich,

I’m always up for helping people with a challenge! A couple of questions which will help me get my head around things and know which suggestions to make: [LIST=1]
[]Who are you working with? Do you have a team around you who also do design?
[
]When you say ‘pure UX’, what are you aspiring to? What kinds of UX tasks really get you interested and engaged in a project?
[*]Do you think it is possible to stretch your current role to include some other tasks, or are things under pressure and pretty inflexible?
[/LIST] It sounds like it’s a hard place to branch out, but we’ll be able to give you some useful ideas. =)

Hi Lukcha,

Thanks for you help :slight_smile:
Answering your questions one by one…