Need Help! Need Good Questions for lunch interview with Director of Design!

Hi All!

I’m a newbie and learning more about options to learn UX Design and just how to get started in the industry with ZERO experience.

My husband works at BambooHR (tech company) as a Product Manager and has a great relationship with the Director of Design. He’s communicated that I’d like to take him to lunch to to talk about breaking into the industry and his thoughts on potential programs available.

This lunch would be a HUGE deal because here in Utah (Silicon Slopes Area) it’s a small world and he would have TONS of connections down the road for UX Design jobs, contacts, etc.

I really want to have some great questions ready for him that cover my bases but also that are impressive and display my interests and abilities.

If you had this opportunity what would you ask and what types of questions would be a great setup for a continued relationship?

Here’s what I’ve come up with so far:

1. I’m new to the tech and design world. What do you think is the most important focus for someone wanting to break into UX Design?

2. What pain points is the UX Design industry currently facing and how would you advise a newbie to set themselves up to be able to help and add value to address some of these issues?

3. I understand that the most important item to speak to a designers ability is an amazing portfolio. What types of projects would you be impressed to see for a new designer?

4. I’m planning on taking a part-time online program because … I’m a full-time mother of 2, I work part-time from home. I know I really need the structure, part-time immersion option, and accountability of a program) to accomplish this goal. How are graduates of these programs viewed (I’ve heard negatively) and how could I avoid falling into that category?