Looking for a way of conducting usability tests in a non-intrusive manner

Hi! I’m studying Interaction Design in Dublin. I am planning on conducting usability tests but I can’t find what I am looking for. Do you know of an app or a method of streaming the video of the front camera of a mobile phone alongside with recording their screen. I’m looking to capture the participants facial expressions while they are testing, but I rather not use a sled and I cannot use a stationary external camera as the participant will have to be moving around the room.

The only thing I found that meets my needs is Lookback.io but it does not work well.

Any suggestions? :sweat_smile:

Thank you.

1 Like

Hi there,

Welcome to the community. I don’t know of any, but I’m bumping this thread up for you. I don’t want you to get lost.

Cheers!

1 Like

Calling @Researchers

1 Like

Lookback.io works really well when you are testing on a mobile. For desktop I like to use Silverback (Mac only) - once the recording starts it’s not very obtrusive. Having said that, be very clear before the testing that you are recording and what those recordings will be used for and who will be viewing them. I have a sheet that explains it in detail and I give participants time before the testing to read the information and sign and date that they understand. I always tell them before I start the recording. I also make sure participants know that if they want to be struck from the record, they can contact me and I will delete any record I have of their participation. I’ve never been asked to do that.

3 Likes

Thank you Piper!