Any advice on how to get past my skill-growth plateau at my first UX career?

Hey everyone, I haven’t posted on here in a while.

Let’s cut to the chase, because this is kinda long. First off, my education. It’s not in visual design, (I graduated in May of 2017 with a bachelor’s in psychology). I went to General Assembly’s User Experience Design Immersive course, a full time 3-month course from February to May of last year. That’s all the background I have.

I got my job as a UX Designer in late August of 2018, and I’m working 27 hours a week making $25. Due to the structure of the company, I am unable to do much of the research side of UX… instead I focus a lot on the visual design side. Anyway, I’ve been there nearly five months. Oh, and I’m from Austin.

I want to be working full time, but when I had a conversation with my supervisor (the only other designer there, who is MUCH more experienced), he gently let me know that while there is room for me to grow within the company, I need to improve in my visual design skills and speed. But I feel like I’m not progressing fast enough in my skills. It may be the impostor syndrome, but I think that there is some reality in the fact that at the current rate, it could take years for me to get to the point where I’m as skilled as he is (he has been doing design for more than a decade).

On top of that, he let me know, very respectfully and privately, my thoughts about the fact that he is looking for a more experienced designer to help lighten his load. He let me know my job is very safe but I’m just not at the point where I can offer the kind of help that he needs right now, hence him looking to hire a third designer.