Advice on design for volunteer work

Hi All! I’m brand new to UX but I have been reading a lot about it over the past month. I’d like to take on a UX project of my own, just to see what I can learn from it.

I have in mind to redesign a website for a local school in my area, as I can see a lot of UX challenges with their current site.

I’m not even sure how to phrase my question, but here goes: If I provide a design to someone who has no development skills, how do they normally implement it? Should I be offering development as well as design (ie teaching them how to implement my ideas)?
Would the school take my design to a developer and have them implement it? How does it normally work when you are providing design solutions to a volunteer organisation, who wouldn’t have money to spend on development?

Thanks. :slight_smile:

Unfortunately, I think my answer is a resounding, “it depends.”

I think the very first step would be to approach them to find out if they are interested. Then you’d take steps to find out the rest of the information you need.

In this case, I imagine they would be look for a developer that is willing to donate their time and expertise to their organization.

I know that is vague, but I hope it helps a bit.

That does help, thanks. :slight_smile:

Hi,

I think you should only consider doing this type of work, if there is a high change of the design changes being implemented. I find people will happily accept some free UX/Design advice, but if its going to cost them time or money to make development changes, it may never happen.

One way around this, especially with smaller sites, or a school, is to also include doing the dev changes. Find out how their website was created, if it’s built in Wordpress or similar and you feel you could comfortably make the necessary changes, then you could offer that also. This will allow you showcase and end to end solution.