When to apply for UX jobs

Hello all!

My name is Mike and I’m fairly new to the forums. I am consistently studying UX on a daily basis and I really want to get in the field. I was wondering when would the best time to apply for a UX job? I have been studying for a year and about to start my first project (My own website). Should I wait to apply for jobs until I have many projects under my belt or just go for it?

I’m really interested in what you guys think. Feel free to ask my questions as well.

Thanks in advance

-Mike

Caveat: I am not a UX designer.

Personally I think that it’s never too soon to apply for jobs as long as you are straight up about your level of skill and experience. Having projects under your belt will obviously be beneficial in several ways, not the least of which will be as content for your portfolio, but if you are able to get a job without one, then good on you! Sometimes being thrown in the deep end is the best way to learn, and I imagine there are people out there that would be happy with someone with a 12 months of study for a junior role.

I’ll send some others with more UX knowledge to weigh in.

2 Likes

Thank you Hawk! I really appreciate your insight. I trying to learn as much as possible from the forums to make my portfolio great.

Thank you again

Hi Mike

Hmm, we go into this in quite a bit of detail in our ebook. I suspect you’ll probably struggle to find a junior UX role without any experience. Most people who are looking to hire a UX designer are looking for results. They want to know that the person they’re bringing in can deliver change that can be measured, and it’s difficult to convince someone that you can step up and do that if you haven’t done it before. Sadly, the idea of apprenticeship and taking people on to learn from a more experienced mentor is not a model that occurs commonly in UX Design.