UX Self Study - Need advice

Hey Folks. I had been reading about UX for the past one year casually, which inspired me to seriously consider UX as a career. So I have decided to transition from my current role. I do not have a design background and have previously worked as a developer. At present, I am a Technical Document Editor, and do a bit of design work too.
From January this year, I started taking courses in IDF, and have read few books like “Don’t Make Me Think”, “The Design of Everyday Things”, “Get Started in UX”, etc. I attended my first UX Meetup in February and it was a wonderful experience.
I feel simply reading and accumulating knowledge is not going to help me land a UX job. So I have decided to redesign a website, and document my process as a part of my portfolio.
My question is -

1. Do I need to inform the website owner about my personal project?
  2. I am still a noob in UX and there is a lot I do not know. My process might be incorrect. How do I ensure I am on the right path? Or is there even a right path?

That’s it for now! :smiley:

3 Likes

Hey there,

Brave on you for making a transition. They’re hard, no matter how passionate you are, and you certainly sound passionate!!!

I don’t know the answer to your first question, but I think the answer to the second one is that there isn’t really a right answer. I believe the important thing is to clearly show your thought processes.

That being said, there might be some best practices to follow. Here are a couple of articles that may be helpful.

10 Inspiring UX Portfolios

9 Quick Tips from UX Portfolio Master Joe Natoli

3 Likes

Congrats on making the jump! If I can help you out in any way, let me know!