Typical work environment/conditions

Hi all,

I’m thinking about making a transition from Engineering to UX design, and after all my research on the internet I still have no idea what type of work environment or conditions to expect. I realise this could vary a lot, but I’d love to hear the experiences of those already working in the field. For example:

• Are workplaces typically based in the city centre, or in suburban areas? Are there particular cities/areas which are “hubs”?
  • Do you tend to work on one project at a time, or handle multiple projects at once?
  • What are the hours like? Is there flexibility? Is a lot of overtime expected? (and is it paid?).
  • Is there a lot of travel?
  • How formal is the environment? (Dress code, meetings, reporting requirements etc.)
  • Are there training and development opportunities?

I’m in Canada but responses from elsewhere are equally interesting.

Thanks!
Lynne

Hi Lynne,

I live in Canberra, Australia and I’m a UX Designer working for a large government department. I joined my organisation as a design graduate through their graduate development program and I have a Bachelor of Industrial Design.

Here’s my experience:

• Canberra is the capital city of Australia and my office in the city centre. There’s a shopping centre across the road.

• I never have just one project, I’m usually juggling 2-4 different things but that’s half the fun!

• The hours? Because I work for a government department I’m a public servant and that governs my working conditions which are pretty good. A standard day for me is 7 and a half hours.

• I travel quite a bit but it’s worth it