Struggling with my UX job search :(

I’ve been doing web and graphic design for several years now. I used to program with classic asp but I realized the presentational part is what I liked more. Then I became a UI designer.
In my last two job positions happened that I had to do the whole project cycle by myself. No art directors, nor programmers, nor real data or content provided, no copywriters to relay on.
My starting point on those projects was only the client needs, knowing that, all the rest would be by myself. Basically I performed tasks usually related with around 5 different positions. Then is when I defined myself as a UX and UI Designer.
During my whole career my approach was always push in a user centered direction (naturally o intuitively) but, not always this approach was taking into consideration until these two last projects. And these days, UX Design has become a specific position by itself.
I’ve been actively looking for a stable job for around 5 months now, realizing the market expect me to demonstrate clearly my UX skills but I’m not being successful.
When I have interviews, I use my last project as a sample of my “process”. I’ve created a bootstrap framework based prototype for a hospitality application based only, in a few screenshots provided of an existing desktop application. Obviously this led me to research about it, to ask as many questions as I could to the people who was familiar with that old application and, knowing the users would be the cruise’s crew members, my goal was to make sure our new application was as user friendly as possible; easy for the transition from one to another.
All this doesn’t look to be enough. It looks like I don’t have a methodology or any proof of it, meaning, I don’t have UX experience for them (Companies).