Choosing design exercises for a complex redesign

I’m a UX Manager at a large enterprise. We have an extremely complex product that is quite mature, but way overdue for a redesign. Before involving our stakeholders and business partners, I am getting together with a core UX team of about 10. I want to facilitate some design exercises with this group first. One reason is that we do not have clear design principles for this product. Another is that I would like to come to the table with my business partners with some ideas and plans to more effectively use their time. Nothing this first meeting would do would set anything in stone.

The question is, what design exercises to do? I have scheduled 90 minutes with my team. Half of them are familiar with the product, half are not.

I have a couple ideas, but I am looking for more as well as some feedback. My ideas to start are:

• Brainstorm and define product design principles.
  • Play Innovation Generator
  • A “UX Retrospective.” Borrowing from a Sprint retrospective, talk about what is good, what is bad, and what is missing from the product. May not work well with those not familiar with the product though.
  • Do a sort of “low hanging fruit” exercise. What are the most obvious things that need fixing? Not sure we need a wider group to figure this out. Those close to the product (and our business partners) know these things fairly well.
  • I’ve thought about working on the product canvas, especially the target group/big picture portions. Not sure if it makes sense to do without business partners. We have an existing one, but it was not really done properly the first time.

The output I would like to have would be to bring a design principle draft, as well as some ideas to move the product forward to the wider team. What I bring to them should be able to spur on more detailed design conversations and help us plan a way forward.

Looking for any ideas or constructive feedback. Thank you.

4 Likes