Work projects on portfolio that don't necessarily have a process

Hello all,

I am a UX designer who worked for a company for almost one year after graduation. Currently, I am thinking about changing my job because of the low UX maturity of the company. I’ve worked on one or two projects and they all launched, but they didn’t necessarily have a process which is one of the reasons I want to change my job (if there is step 1-5 in a design process, the team jumped to 4 and 5, with no research and no access to users). I am building my portfolio right now, but I am struggling to write about those projects because there are many problems in terms of the process and communication between teams, and I don’t think they are strong enough to put on my portfolio.

My design team also realized this problem, and I am currently working on developing a good process to implement and propose a plan to better collaborate between teams. I could write that, but it’s not necessarily a good design project. Since I already worked for a year, it’s also not appropriate to put my school projects. Any advice or suggestions? Thanks in advance!

Hi kokona!
I’m also a designer working with the same case as you did in my company. because of the company’s large scale but premature concept about UX process. so the management often prioritize about the end result for the product rather than conducting the whole process right

And what I can suggest is maybe to work on redesign project of well-established site. It can shows your creativity and thought process in UI/UX design.

1 Like

That’s the real world and hiring managers will understand, you just have to highlight your UX thinking in a different way.