Work/life balance

Anyone else struggle with the whole work/life balance thing?

In our Get Started in UX ebook we advocate taking on a personal project or helping out a non-profit in order to build your portfolio, and I take my own advice regularly—but I’ll be the first to admit that it means I end up working crazy hours. I go through phases of being better at maintaining balance, but I’ve still got a lot to learn.

Anyone feel like they’ve got this balance right? Would love to hear your tips on how to perform this juggling act better! :slight_smile:

Yes I struggle with this big time!

On a ‘normal’ day I work as a UX-er 7:30 to 3:30 and then I go home and work on personal projects as well as my personal and guest blogging work. My husband cooks dinner and I work through dinner all the way up to about 8pm and then we go to the gym. After that I go home and go to sleep. Don’t even get me started on the days where I’m still at the office after 6pm!

Weekends are spent; reading, researching and doing online courses and all the housework I failed to do during the week.

I just can’t switch my UX-y brain off. It’s really hard for me to stop.

So, yes I would love some tips too :slight_smile:

Great subject Matt. I feel like I kinda have it mastered, although it does mean long hours. I start work at 5am and finish at 9pm (usually with a glass of wine in my hand – that makes it balanced right?) so that I can fit in being a full time mum for my kids when they’re not at school or asleep, and also indulge my exercise obsession. My boyfriend and I have made a commitment to not working one day in the weekend (unless one of us has a launch or something) and we mostly manage to stick to that.

Because I freelance I have more flexibility than most, but along with 5 year old twins and a major house renovation underway, things are pretty busy.