Whose job is it?

Hi,
I’ve been a sole UX Designer in a SaaS Product for Translation Project Management for the last 5 months when my superior decided to leave.

Since then my colleagues and I have been having trouble deciding who should be responsible for detailed design of how something should behave, when, what should trigger an action. Let me give you an example. There is a whole “app” which manages the translation projects, there are a lot of automations going on. The page structure includes such features as e.g. File management, workflow of the jobs, adding payables and receivables, managing people involved in the project and so on. And we need to add an automation when PM uploads a working file - the system should automatically read the file and populate Volume of the file which is the basis for calculating payables. So I’ve got user requirements: add volume automatically when file is uploaded, provided the User enables such an automation. And this is it. So I wrote down such a description and gave it to the developers. But they require a document which describes all of the actions systematically. Meaning, they need a list of actions which will trigger the automation and list of actions which don’t trigger the automation, what happens when, etc.

I must admit, since I don’t know the system so well, it causes a huge challenge for me. I spoke to some ux designer in other companies and they said they’re not responsible for such documentation.

What do you think? Whose job should it be? Or… whose job it is in your places of work?

1 Like

Wow, It’s a good challenge to pick up from someone who really owned the product.

Responsibilities usually grow organically, particularly in small design groups like yours. It’s probably more of a question of who can pick it up vs. who should be picking it up - available time, familiarity with the work etc. But it also sounds like there’s nobody with all of these.