What to expect of a mentor?

Hello, all. I am happy to have found this community!

I live in a big city with a relatively active UX community. Most events are paused for the summer, but I am planning to attend a lot of meetings and do some networking in a couple of months. To find a mentor. But I don’t know what to ask of a mentor.

I am a student in a program that is not specifically UX (thought related) and I work the rest of the time, so this pushes all my UX learning projects into my spare time. Do I expect them to help me through email? Personal meetings? What’s too much to ask? What is not enough? How to approach people with a request to be a mentor? I’m an anxiety-ridden introvert. Please help. (I hope the question is clear enough!)

Thank you!

4 Likes

Hi Ilya! Welcome :smiley:

Mentors are really valuable - I myself am one and I have several of my own.

One of my mentees lives overseas (I live in Australia) and we communicate via email. Like anything it can be challenging but nothing that’s insurmountable.

One of my mentors lives interstate (Sydney) and another one works two desks over from me right now. For my mentor in Sydney we communicate via google hangouts and over the phone and for my desk buddy we have brief catch ups every two to four weeks. I gain value from all of those conversations regardless of how we have them :slight_smile:

I too am an introvert and I also have Asperger’s so I totally get the anxiety thing! I’ve found the easiest way to get a mentor is to just ask them. Find someone that you think will help you with your development need and just reach out to them via email or social media. Most UX people are pretty open to it and will generally only say no if they genuinely don’t have time. I took on too many mentees at one point because I wanted to help everyone and I ended up being terrible at it! One of them ended up suffering and I felt terrible so I’m now much more realistic about what I can do for another UXer.