What company expects from UX Designers?

Hi, I work as a designer at Cisco currently. In the past I had worked for juniper and several other companies. I must admit, in each Job change I learn something new and experience better benefits.

But when I look back on my career, i Still have this open questions in my mind

1. Who would value the importance of design?
  2. What do the business actually looking for from a designed

…especially in the enterprise segment, I feel a lot of difference between what a designer has to offer and the company’s expectation from them. Ultimately business drives the product, I believe designed success is product success in all aspects.

I’m sure, somebody must have passed through the similar dogma. Any help with guidelines would be helpful.

• bala
3 Likes

I think it depends on the business and their general UX strategy. Some might look for someone who is able to implement core business design language while making sure to create better products, some might just need someone who keeps the UI intact and easy to implement for the devs.

My position is still unclear, but I was mainly hired to bring in new ideas and help building up an UX department. That way, I need to ensure that our users are satisfied with my ideas.

1. Who would value the importance of design?
    The product owners who see that my designs lead to better usability and more unique experiences. That’s something I can put into quantified data, I hope.
  2. What do the business actually looking for from a designed
    Just as I said, I am here for creative ideas and making things more usable.

All in all, you have made me think about that for the first time, interesting question to consider.

1 Like