What are your hobbies or side skills?

I was recently part of a really interesting discussion about hobbies and ‘side skills’ in another community that I manage. It’s amazing how diverse and interesting people are.

Outside of your UX related skills, what else are you good at or interested in?

I’m pretty good at interior design and I’m a certified gym instructor.

5 Likes

My major interest is in people, which doesn’t actually count as a hobby, but I can’t think of anything specific and I didn’t want to be left out of the conversation. :wink:

9 Likes

It doesn’t always show very well, but I love being active. I lift weights 3-4x’s a week, and play softball on Sundays. Saturdays in the Spring through Fall are usually spent hiking one of the many great trails in the Denver area.

I do a ton of photography, which is a vestige of my former career as a journalist. I’ve never been able to afford anything high-end, but I did just get a Canon T6i that I’m super stoked about. I have a huge backlog of pictures I want to print, frame, and put up in the house. If I actually did that with all the pictures I wanted to print out, I probably wouldn’t have much in the way of wall space.

I’m a beer enthusiast. I don’t mean that I like to drink a lot, I mean that I enjoy exploring the wide variety of breweries and styles available to me. I’m able to articulate the differences between styles and brewers, and I’m usually able to recommend a specific beer for someone with a few questions. Denver is packed with craft breweries, so I picked a great place to live for this hobby.

8 Likes

I make birthday cakes for friends and family. Not often, just as the need arises but it is a great outlet for a love of colour and design. I bask in the feedback - maybe that’s the part I am particularly drawn to. My other love is understanding child development - I do hope I’ll find a way to use that in my new career.

7 Likes

I’m going to a craft beer festival tomorrow!

Love this. :slight_smile: