UXAlive conference for total beginner?

First of all sorry for a little bit of cross-posting… This is a question on my mentoring thread I just started but I believe that it’s worth its own thread, so here it is:

UXAlive conference is next week and I was thinking of attending it… I have a few days to decide whether I should be doing this or not.
I am an architect just finished school and UX design is something that really appeals to me. I have zero working experience and my portfolio is so far architecture oriented…

My question is do you think that someone with my inexistent experience will have a lot to gain from this? Would it be better to have some level of familiarization with the UX field before attending (and spending money) on conferences like this? In the end, would it be a helpful way to help me think about the possibilities (the workshops also look really interesting) or would it confuse me because of too much information in such a little time?

Would it be better focusing on something else instead of attending it?
Or maybe it would be a great chance to find some “guidance” by people that I might meet there?

Thanks in advance guys!

I’ll call @mattymcg into this thread and get his thoughts. He’s speaking at UX Alive next week.

I’d just go along and see what happens!

At the very least you will meet new people and you’ll still learn things from the talks even if you don’t know much. Take notes and write down anything you don’t understand and look it up online or go chat to the speaker in the break. UXers don’t usually bite :grin:

I participated at UXAlive last year and I thought it was interesting. I believe this year it will be much better, however I didn’t think I came home with way too many new insights. This might be also because some of the things the speakers presented were things that I already knew or heard of. I think UXAlive is a good place for a beginner to start.