UX for retail stores?

I was thinking of a project idea and thought about people not liking to wait in line to purchase their products. This will be a physical problem right? Should I be observing the line and taking notes? also when doing a competitive analysis I know that i’d have to go to the other stores physically but what should I be comparing with them? I only know about competitive analysis when it’s websites,apps,etc but not sure what to do when it’s physical like a retail store.

Hi

Its worth thinking of how people solve this problem today. Shopping online, self service checkouts or personal shoppers for example. These would be a good comparison to begin looking at.

Future shopping will no double be Virtual Reality experience, with shoppers sitting at home, and squeezing fruit through a robotic arm in the store.

Good luck, Paddy

Hi @ralphc_nyc, I’m not a professional or a student, so take what I have to say with a grain of salt. I’m currently reading Smart Retail by Richard Hammond and I think what he has to say may be relevant to you. For example, he talks about UK fashion retailer, Oasis. Oasis staff walk around with transactional tablets that allow access to stock levels and product information. If something is in stock at another store etc., the order can be taken right away without going to a register.

1 Like

Don’t let the fact that you’re dealing with a physical space throw you-- approach the project in the same way that you would an online issue. This is where it’s helpful to have a set process you use in your UX work. For me, my process always follows the basic course of: