User researchers of product design of physical goods?

Hi guys, I’m extremely new; I’m just learning about all of this. I have a question, I hope you can help me with it: does the job title “user researcher” only exist in digital product (apps, sotfware, websites…) design companies or does it also exist in product design of physical goods companies?

Thanks in advance guys :slight_smile:?

2 Likes

It can be applied to digital goods, physical good, or processes.

There is definitely a limitation, however, in that some programs really emphasize what Don Norman calls “pixel twiddling”. If the educational background is really hyper-focused on the interface design portion, sometimes the translation to other processes is a bit harder.

However, there does seem to be a constant push within the field to keep from defining UX as the design of interfaces. This is partially shown in the increase of distinction between UX Designers and UX Researchers, but many organizations don’t really understand or discriminate between the two.

For the record, that distinction is one of the things that’s driving my job search. As an engineer, I’m not nearly as competitive in purely software side of things, trained in analysis and experimentation, not design.

4 Likes

Thanks, that’s really useful! If anyone else has something more to add I’d really appreciate it :grinning:!

The thing is, each time I browse about “user researchers” I only find information related to digital products. I’m sure that theoretically it can be applied to the three, but it seems like there is NO job market for user researchers in physical goods and service design projects. I might be wrong; like I said, I’m just starting to learn about this. What do you think?

1 Like

This could be the problem. Rather than searching for UX or user researchers you could go down another path. Try ‘system design’ or ‘healthcare design’ or something similar. Don Norman designed healthcare systems and wrote prolifically about it.