User Experience in Games

I’m studying about user experiences for games and would like to know more about the process, strategies, prototypes, tests and what is different of usual.

That sounds really interesting @Jonathan_Gabetta
No doubt you’re just as adept at Googling as I am, but this article is certainly an interesting read.

Hi Jonathan,

I’ve worked on some game environments with clients, and the general approach I use is more like how the film or animation industries operate when producing a narrative. I come from a film background, but it’s an obvious approach to take.

Because of the focus on visual communication rather than web content, layout conventions become a bit more intuitive and story naturally becomes important. I’ve also been involved in some interactive fiction projects where the player is only exposed to a text interface and has to internally visualise the environment, and in some live-action roleplay (LARP) scenarios used to help people achieve insight into their own human responses under certain pressures or when exposed to otherwise unlikely experiences such as living through extreme events.

There are some obvious things shared by game design and conventional UX design, such as:
[LIST]
[]Lots of research feeding into development
[
]Consideration for how what is seen/heard on screen affects the player/viewer
[]Careful awareness of how emotion and behaviour affect engagement
[
]Linearity, duration and lifetime are important factors
[]Using technical platforms and systems to help create the experience
[
]A clear understanding of the objective you’re aiming for
[]An understanding of the end-state of your users/players
[
]Collaboration during production of a sophisticated project
[]A focus on interaction
[/LIST] But, for me at least, game design also spins things up quite a lot. Specifically:
[LIST]
[
]Conflict and drama become a lot more important,
[]You can take things a lot wider with multiple channels as part of the same sensory experience