Great points, thanks!
Yes, your assumptions are both correct.
Yes, the upload of documents happens in a member area, so the customer can come back at a later point and complete document upload before sending the order. Eg. start your entry on mobile, realize that you dont have the documents available, log in later on your PC and finish the document upload.
Last statement is also correct: the screens show the situation before uploading any document. If some files have been uploaded a message informs the user that the upload was received and documents will be reviewed.
The backoffice employee will review the documents. Each document that is OK can be checked off in the backoffice and that will be shown in the member area as a green checkbox in the list of required documents. In that way the customer can see which documents were ok, and which ones are still required.