Transitioning from Front End Developer to UX Designer

Hi Everyone!

Mostly be chatting off/on on the Slack vs forum. However for this question, I feel like I’d get more traction and diverse answers here. I’m a front end developer with about 10+ years of experience. The past few years, I’ve had more of an interest to learn more about UX. I read books and talk with other friends within UX roles. I’m currently taking a UX Research & Strategy course through Designlab and loving the interaction I get with my mentor.

I currently have about 2 years of A/B testing experience but not quite as UX focused as I’d hope. I’m wondering what would be the next best steps for me. Since I don’t quite have much of a UX portfolio, should I find internships or freelance contracts to build a portfolio or straight out apply for a Junior UX Designer or Researcher position?

Thanks in advance!

1 Like

UX is a whole spectrum of skills. What area do you want to work in?

1 Like

Do you enjoy that? If no, tuck it away in good to know and then focus on something else.

1 Like

I do enjoy the research aspect of it but I also enjoy creating wireframes, user flows, and testing the things that do/do not work.

1 Like

Is it less UX focused in that you spent more time implementing the tests in code and less time organizing the material being tested? If this is the case, I think it’s super useful.

This sounds like it might be in the area of interaction design. I worked as a developer for some time before moving to IxD (it was completely incidental)

If I heard correctly, you have a mentor, you’re taking courses, and you have totally relevant dev experience, and you’re interested in IxD?