Summer Intership 2019 | Need help

Hello Everyone!

I am a grad student and studying Information Experience Design. I have a few questions about summer internships in the industry.

1- How a good internship can help in my career?
2- How difficult it is to get an internship in companies like Google, Facebook, etc
3- What are some good companies to look for internships?
4- Is it necessary to get a good reference for an internship? I am new to the USA and hardly know anybody.
5- When is the right time to start looking for the summer internship?
6- What can I do to stand out from other applicants?
7- How hard it is to get a good internship?

I will be grateful if you guys can help me. I don’t why but I am very tensed about and I feel like I will end up getting nothing.

Thank you
Aimen

Hi, Amen

1. A Good Internship is a necessity for your career. You will get to know how UX is applied in the actual corporate world.
  2. Well, since you’re new in UX. I’d suggest you not to worry about companies like Google or Facebook. What you all need is to learn from a company or design studio who care for User Experience. There must be plenty of companies in the USA who cares for UX. But if you talk about Google/Facebook, your portfolio and experience define difficulty level. I’ve met some designers who consistently try for Google again and again and they did get a job there.
  3. I’ve no idea about the USA but I think you could google about it as I did google about best design studios in India.
  4. It is not necessary at all. Reference only helps to let recruiter see your work first over other candidates.
  5. There is no right time, you create your own right time. For example, if I were you, I would find as soon as possible. I wouldn’t waste a second.
  6. A Designer has two jobs, one which you work daily at job and other is to create a portfolio. Your Portfolio must tell what challenges you faced while working and how come up with solutions.