Stakeholders drive products I can't get behind

TL;DR: My stakeholders are having me build something I can’t behind and it’s driving me nuts. If I’m not exercising critical thinking, I’m not doing my job as a designer. Where does a product designer come into the conversation about what gets built and when? Where is the middle ground?

My name is Wren and I am new to UX/UI and product design (3 months). I work at a fintech startup that builds a CMS for financial advisors to create their own websites, with the help from our Onboarding team (we’re kind of in the middle of self-serve and agency). I’ve recently been asked to create an onboarding tool to help expedite the onboarding process and get client websites live faster.

However, I really can’t get behind what they’re asking me to build. I kind of feel like a dummy designer, just doing what I’m told, rather than looking at the problem through a human-centred and design thinking lens. I have not been part of the original strategic conversations, and I feel like a designer should really be at the table when stakeholders are trying to figure out where to spend their dollars. My PM is unfortunately a little… ineffective… so I do feel responsible in being part of the conversations, as opposed to getting top-down instructions on what to build.

My north star lately has been showing up to work like I’m about to be interviewed about it: Why did you build this? What was your process? What questions did you ask? What were the alternatives? I feel like just being a monkey and plugging in a UI doesn’t really answer any of this. Boo.

How do you handle the stakeholder/ designer/ pm relationship when it comes to collaborating on what to build?

To what extent should I try to be involved in the business case when it comes to task prioritization?

What are some helpful reframing strategies you’ve used to see this challenge in a more productive way?

4 Likes

Great post - I’m new in UX/UI as well.