Solo UX Researcher

Hello I am currently working for a startup company as the only UX researcher I am also new in this field (first time working as a professional UX researcher).

My questions are:

1. How do you survive as the only UX researcher in your company when everyone don’t really understand what UX is? The UX maturity in my company is very low. ( not to mention lack of resources)

2. My company has developed several products without “proper” user research at the beginning. How do you conduct research for existing products for future improvement?

3. What is the best way to deal with stakeholders if they’re unsure who the target users are?

2 Likes
  1. who hired you? For a company to invest in a UR, there was an initial business need. Together with the person who hired you, you need to build a shared understanding/knowledge of the value of what you’re doing, and also build a case for more resources
  2. Speak to existing users. What are their motivations and pain points? This research/analysis will drive future improvements.
  3. Speak to your sales/customer success teams. They will know… If they don’t, I would be seriously worried

How big is your company and what is the team structure?

1 Like

Hi thank you for the answers, I have done number 2.

My company consists of 50-100 employees but unfortunately we still don’t have “established” team structure.

The one who hired me was one of the owner of the company who has no idea what UX and UX research is so the role of the UX in my company is still very low at this state.

Hey!

I’m in the same boat, as the only UXer doing both research and design. At the beginning, I was even told I couldn’t speak to users because there was so much fear from upper management about stressing the relationship.