So, Now I'm a Business Analyst

Hello all, I’m back from under my rock. Job hunting was getting pretty desperate there for a while but happy to report I’ve landed a job out of attending a hackathon. I started a couple of days ago as a Business Analyst—a UX Analyst/Strategist, as I see it.

Looking to hit the books hard and hit the ground running so any other fellow BAs or UXAs out there please please let me know if there are good resources I should be absorbing. I’m coming in on the ground floor for a rebuild, re-imagine and relaunch for an older existing project and the possibilities are dizzying for a newcomer.

3 Likes

Congratulations! Keep up the hard work.

Yay Jason – that’s fantastic news! Well done.

Congrats, Jason! I’ve worn the mantle of BA for little over a year now, and I love my job. As I’ve been studying UXD the last 6 months, I’ve found a tremendous amount of overlap in the two disciplines (in fact, I wrote a blog post about it!).

I wouldn’t doubt for a second that employers say they are looking for a BA when they actually need a UX analyst/researcher/strategist. Employers may be unfamiliar with the idea of UX or think of UX as more of the surface-level visual design rather than encompassing the whole experience (as my current employer does). The BA career path is more established and professionalized than UX, at this point. Employers probably feel more comfortable calling a position a BA rather than a UX professional.

As a BA, I would recommend a few resources:

• BABOK - Business Analysis Body of Knowledge - This is created by the IIBA (International Institute of Business Analysis). If you google BABOK, I believe you’ll find version 2 as a free Google book, though to get the latest version 3, you’ll need to be a member of the IIBA.

• ModernAnalyst.com - Plethora of articles, webinars, resources, and an emailed newsletter! (because we need one more of those, right?) This site is geared toward the wider analyst world, not just BAs.