Search vs Filter options on Large complex catalogues

Hi all,
Firstly I am a complete UX (UX Mastery) noob, and I tried searching the forum for a similar topic(s) but it was a bit overwhelming, so I hope you guys can point me in the right direction (of the relevant thread).
What you should also know is I am a Process Engineer by profession, I am just them most creative guy in my team, so I got the job of UI/UX design. So on to my question…

Some Background:
I am busy creating the front end for a large source cataloguing/registering system that also has a spatial (map view) component linked to it.
There is A LOT of metadata information linked to every source. Rough guess but 90% of the metadata should be searchable. Users also want to be able to click on a location on the map, and view ONLY the (filtered) sources based on if the source coverage intersects with that location.

So my question
I am currently VERY stuck with how I should approach the search function:

1. Sidebar filters (static or not)
  2. Multiple Horizontal filters.
  3. How to display metadata on selected source - popup, within the sidebar, below the mapview etc…
    I basically have too many options…

Lastly, as a new user I’m only allowed to upload 1 image so I apologize beforehand, but what you’ll see is:

Left side - current search filters and search result all done in static side bar. Screen split in 2
Right side - my future idea - screen divided in 3, static (but collapsible) filters far left.
Search results in middle
Once selected some info in middle pane
More info available inside map view.

Calling in the @Experienced guys.

3 Likes

Having quickly scanned over this, there’s a lot going on, and it’s quite hard to understand how it works looking at static screens

it might be an idea to prototype this, and then perhaps share with us?

You can upload your screens and add hotspots using something like https://www.invisionapp.com

1 Like