Pointers for a complete outsider?

Hi.

I’m a Graphic Design student who’s only recently discovered that UX is even a thing, and it’s got me pretty interested. I’m currently trying to figure out whether it’s right as a future career for me - but one of the biggest challenges is trying to find a point of entry. There seems to be no shortage of books, infographics and articles but I’m at a loss as to where to start. Right now my biggest questions are;
-What books or articles should I read to help me, as a complete beginner, to get an idea of what UX as a career is?
-Should I pursue roles such as ‘UX architect’ if I have an inclination towards information gathering and visual design, but very weak HTML/CSS skills? Should I consider other, similar roles?
-What sort of qualifications do I need to get into the field? I’ve read about graphic designers transitioning into UX, but this seemed like it was pretty late into their careers.
-How do I involve myself in projects that I could potentially build a portfolio from?

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Hi Nikolas,
Welcome to the community. We can definitely help you out with that.

At the risk of sounding too much like a salesperson, we have a book that should be of use to you. Get Started in UX answers exactly the sorts of questions that you are asking, with regards to starting a career in UX. You can check it out here.

Earlier this year I ran a free online chat session all about getting started in a UX career and quite a few handy tips came out of it. You can read a transcript of the session here.

That’s probably it from me, but I’m sure there will be others that weigh in with much more valuable answers.

1 Like

Hi Nikolas,
The book Hawk mentions is very helpful if you want to get an understanding of possible ways to starting a career in UX, such as the process, questions you may be asked in interviews etc. I found it was a great, easy read.