New job salary

Hey people!

So I am currently on an internship that is set to turn into a permanent role as a UX Designer. I was wondering what the average junior UX Designer salary is in the London area?

I will go into more detail on my role, I am the only UX guy at the company and I generally take on the role of researcher, designer, UI design and even branding graphic design. So I am juggling quite a lot, loving it though. It’s a big company with close to 1500 employees world wide.

Not sure if my background will help but I have a BSc in Psychology, MSc in human factors, 7 months volunteering as a UX Designer, and two paid UX contracts, as well as 3 months on this current paid UX internship.

Any advise on how to approach the salary negotiation will be helpful too. I was thinking on going in asking for £30-£35K, what do people here think?

Thanks in advance!! :slight_smile:

Hi @Johnlocke42
Welcome. :slight_smile:
That sounds about right (from what I can glean from the internet). I’m not in the UK, but most of the payscale sites quote ~31k for a junior role and 45k for a senior one.

It sounds like you have a solid educational background, so I’d push fairly hard.

Let us know how you go. :slight_smile:

2 Likes

And congratulations on getting your first permanent role as a UX’er! It seems to take a lot of experience in other ways to get through that door. Well done!

very nice!! congrats! and keep us informed in this new chapter as a full time UX Designer :wink:

@Johnlocke42 hi, there are 2 things you need to do before you can negotiate the salary you want.

1. Got to payscale and glassdoor and get a low to high salary range for a mid level UX designer, researcher, IA in London. The reason you want to be armed with these figures is because…
  2. You want to negotiate yourself a salary in the high end if the range and to be able to give your employer specific reasons why you are worth more that the average candidate.