Need help from UI designers or anyone with an eye for good design (design pics)

Currently, I am working on a recycling app and doubting myself so much. I have no experience with UI design, but I was recommended to design according to Google Material Design in previous discussions here on the community.

I am not confident that this design is good enough to be included in my UX design portfolio for a junior job as a UX designer.

I’m still not sure about the text alignment and the feel as a whole.

If you can share your opinion of what might be approved that would be highly appreciated.
Thanks!!

Hey there.

I see a lot of issues here that take a long way to resolve. Material design is still fairly new to me, and I am sure I did similar mistakes. To me, it seems like you have not entirely understood what material design is about, I am talking about elevation levels, the information structure on pages and shadows.

Graphic design issues are also a thing, starting from font choice and reaching to colors.

As an advice, I would advise you to use material design packages for the prototyping software you are using, and then try to structure your content into those elements, all while having the material design guidelines open in another tab.

All those things might be okay if your screens are wireframes, but you are already too close to high fidelity mockups, so UX professionals might see it as a lack of skill in UI. Make it into your strength by going back one step and just use well-structured wireframes.

I’d be more than happy to check back on your results after a rework.

Thank you for taking the time, appreciate it.
I have changed the mock up and focused more on clean minimal style.
You’re welcome to share your thoughts ,even mild suggestions!

This is not the entire app only a few critical pages.
First Page is the Onboarding experience for the user (watermark will be removed)
Page 2 is scanning an item to learn of the plastic type