MockUps - Prototyping UI using After Effects. Is it worth it?

Hello everyone, I am a visual Designer and currently work as a UI_UX designer at the company I work for. I wanted to ask my colleagues here and front-end Devs as well your opinion about presenting After Effects animations in order to detail how the interaction will be in certain Design. Do you find this useful?

In this link you can find one example of what I am talking about:

https://www.behance.net/gallery/52672469/Animated-Mockup-APP-Merkus

Note: This takes much more time than using another prototyping tool but I find it really useful in the implementation process because it permits a seamless view of what designers want to be done.

I need your opinions, pros & cons or whatever you want to share. Thanks a lot.

I see huge value in terms of communicating intent – esp to stakeholders that aren’t designers or developers. The static nature of wireframes is always a bit frustrating in that way.

That said, I guess you need to weigh up the ROI in terms of time spent. It would depend on how big the project is, what the budget is, how much animation is involved etc. I guess if there were just one or two animations that were pivotal to the design then including this would make sense. I think you’d need to be pretty disciplined in your decision making around what to prioritise.

3 Likes

Totally agree! thanks for responding.

1 Like

No worries. Welcome to the community. :slight_smile:

Hello @calvingaviria,

I’m a proponent of communicating solutions to developers and stakeholders with more than just static wireframes. AE has become a tool that many UX designer use to further enhance their vision with animations and transitions. @HAWK brings up a good point regarding time and ROI.