Making compromises

Sometimes clients can be adamant.
This is a story of how I had to do work I wasn’t happy with, and knew was wrong - because of the client.

I used to work as a freelancer before.
I made a portfolio website for a company with a lot of text on it.
The website needed to be optimized to make all the text easy to road.
Good serif fonts, contrasting backgrounds were the way to go.
But the client wanted some colors because he believed they were lucky.
He even picked out some patterned backgrounds because “he liked them”, and was not willing to compromise.
That made the text very difficult to read. The menu items were barely visible.

I just couldn’t push the idea of usability to him because of his beliefs.
I wonder if this happens in companies too. One person in power could push his ideas and beliefs on a product used by many other people.

Have you had such experiences where you compromised and worked against user data?

1 Like

Clients are notoriously picky, but as a freelance designer, you’re constantly subject to their changing whims and hair-brained idea. That’s not to say that every piece of customer feedback is useless, but as freelancers you’re usually left feeling something like Dogbert.

So what can you do if a client is insisting on a terrible design? There are a few things you can do to move things back into the realm of good design in these situations. What tactics you pick depend largely on your understanding of the customer. Choose wisely, my friends.

1.) Remind the client that they hired you because they were happy with what they saw of your previous work. By hiring you, they were admitting that they needed help, and that they were not skilled at creating good design. You are-- it’s what you do. Therefor, a little trust is in order. Saying this with a smile on your face and a laugh in your voice helps soften the blow, and lets them know that you’re being good-natured about their request.