Looking for advice going into UX Design job interview

jobs

Hi there!

I’m hoping there are some seasoned pros here who can help me on my way to my first UX Design interview next week!

I already had an introductory chat with the company owners yesterday about the job role and I’m really interested to go for the official interview next week.

I’ll summarise quickly my background and the job I’m going for:

• I’m a graphic designer that has been working on brand identity and design for marketing over the past 6 years but always found this type of work not completely fulfilling as i never got to pursue my interests in human behaviour and psychology within the role

• a couple of years ago I embarked on a counselling skills course as I thought studying to be a psychotherapist might be a better career for me. After some volunteering experiences in this field i discovered it wasn’t for me

• back to the drawing board! i wondered if there was a field i could go into that combined both visual design that considered human behaviour, i then came across UX design which was indeed that!

• earlier this year I decided to complete a fantastic course on Udemy (https://www.udemy.com/ultimate-guide-to-ux) which prepared me to take the BCS Foundation Certificate in UX, and in March I took the exam and passed!

• Since then I have been freelancing still as a graphic designer until 2 weeks ago a recruiter contacted me for a job that came up within a software company as a hybrid graphic designer/UX designer.

• The role would require me to carry out the graphic design tasks that I’m familiar with but also undertake UX and UI design tasks to improve the usability of the software product they are building. I would be the only Graphic/UX Designer there and I would not have anyone senior mentoring me so I would be in charge of my own learning and development.