Just graduated with a B.S. in Psychology. No career experience of any sort. Should I attend General Assembly’s UXDI, or go for a Master’s?

First, a little about me. I live in Austin, Texas. I just graduated college this past May, obtaining a B.S. in Psychology and a minor in Anthropology. I’m turning 29 in a few weeks, so you could say that I’m a little late to the post-undergrad scene. It was a long and circuitous route, but I graduated with a 3.46 GPA.

As for my “professional career”, I can’t say that I’ve had the chance to have one. It’s kind of hard to have one while obtaining a degree. All I have is retail and call center experience. You know, the typical string of high school / college student jobs.

I’ve been trying to go the free, learn online route and I’ve been reading books. But thanks to college, I know my learning style. I learn best in an in-person structured environment, where there are projects, deadlines, fellow students, and teachers to whom I can ask questions and receive mentorship.

Given that, I have all but decided upon attending General Assembly’s User Experience Design Immersive course this December. I’m willing to fork over the cash, as I see it as an investment in a bright future.

There is one red flag however. It seems like this course is full of people who are transitioning from a previous career. I’ve even heard that you have an uphill climb if you don’t have any prior experience with visual design and/or CSS / HTML and an overall Tech background (which I don’t have).

I worry that after spending $13,945, working my butt off, and graduating, I will find that employers won’t give me a chance. They will look at my age and my lack of any professional experience and laugh, regardless of my portfolio.