Junior UI Designer need help on Product Measurement

Hi everyone, I am a junior UI designer since 2020 at Indonesia. I’m currently working on a Automotive Website Development Project, and new to Design Thinking process to develop a better product/design. I need to present a quantitative measurement on how my design is making the product better, but I don’t know how.

Any advice on tools or methods that I can work on this?

Salam kenal, terimakasih (Thankyou)

Hi Nik,
I’m a senior and i still struggle with convincing management this is an important part of my job.
There are of course the obvious stats – I’m not sure what the goal of your site is, but for an eCommerce site, it’s simply selling product. Breaking it down, you may want to measure how long it takes someone to add something to a cart, and then how long it takes to check out, how many abandoned carts, etc.
Start with Google Analytics stats, and then look at getting some heatmapping software like Crazy Egg or Hotjar. You will learn a lot. Keep in mind, pulling insights out of data takes time, and it’s rare for management to account for this in a project plan, so if there is a BA on your team, this could be something you could get them to do whilst you are busy designing. I hope that helps!

2 Likes

Hello Tim,

Thank you so much for your advice, it really helps a lot, actually we kinda go with your way, and now our team are setting up using Crazy Egg for heatmapping tools to gain more insights on the user experience. (because of course Hotjar is like crazy expensive for our team :D)

I hope that you are willing to giving further enlightment
We know that tools like Google Analytics provides raw data, it’s just telling us what goes right and what goes wrong, but it doesn’t really explain to us why it’s good or bad. Hence, we need heatmapping tools to further analyze those data to find the reason behind it.

(Please Correct Me if I’m Wrong)