Is It A Right Age To Start A Career In Designing

Hello everybody!

My name is Brenda and I’m 28 years old. These days I’m planning to start a career on web design as a freelancer but I dont know if I’m too old to start it.

I have 5 years of experience as computer operator and making different excel sheets for my company. But now I’m bore from my work and not enjoying it. So I am deciding to change my field.

It’s worth to say that I got 2 clients in the last month but the only thing I did for them was to get a hosting, domain, installed wordpress with a wordpress theme and personalized it. Not much of web designing or programming, just a little html tweaks.

I’m studying a book to go in depth with my html and css knowledge and I’m planning to study javascript and a little of PHP.

I thing I have the profile to be a web designer. I love to learn new things constantly, I have a sedentary way of life (I can sit in front of my laptop all day), I have knowledge in programming basics, I’m an expert to get the info I need on the web, I’m a little geek. My only concern is that I’m 26 years old, turning 27 in November.

What are your thoughts about it? I’m I too old to start a career as designer and developer?
Sorry if my English is poor, it’s not my native language,

Greetings!

Hi Brenda, Welcome!

Personally I don’t think you are ever really too old to start something new, if you have the willingness to learn and grow, and the basic soft skills required.
Generally the things that impact on people’s decisions are more along the lines of how to get into a new job, how to get experience for it, the change in pay etc.
This community is a great source of information and support if you have any further questions :), although we do lean more towards User Experience than full design or development. Most of us dabble in multiple areas.

Hi Brenda,
Great to have you here.