Interested in a Formal Education

I’m going to give you a quick history on my work and education:

I have been working in or around UX for about 5 years. The first year I spent as a web developer, putting together designs and working front and back-end in Node. I am self taught with books, online tutorials, and a few friends.

I have no bachelor’s degree, though I do have some credits. I mostly audited Sociology and Philosophy courses for 3-4 years very frequently, as though I was a student. I would register for full-time courses and never pay, but keep attending. I worked full time in masonry through this, modifying my work schedule as much as I could to make it all fit. That was in the mid 2000s.

For the past ~4 years I’ve been in a hybrid Project Management (PjM) and UX role at a ~20-30 person agency. I want to move on… to work at a bigger company, learn more from others with more experience, work with reputable clients, and expand my context for comprehension.

I am also self taught in PjM and UX. I read or scanned a lot of books, lots of articles, and started fitting things into my work where there was a need and business case. I’ve built some complex stuff, and I’m proud of the transition from mixing mortar to designing user facing systems for large web apps, and with so little support. But I can’t say I feel like i killed it, and I feel like my approach to these things is quite patchy.

1. I feel like that patchy’ness shows in my UX and PjM
  2. And I feel like this, and my lack of any credentialed education, is making it harder for me to find work elsewhere. I have gone through phases where I apply a lot, but haven’t had an offer in 4 years.

Solution?