Human Factors / UX Research Thesis Question

Hello All,
I am in my senior year of University, and I am just getting into UX Research. I am going to be in a Human Factors Lab this semester in which we are developing an exoskeleton. I will be assisting in creating questionnaires, conducting interviews, collecting data from potentional exoskeleton users targeting their movements and PREFERENCES in what they would appreciate to have in an assistive robot, how we can best support their needs (users of exoskeleton). I want my senior thesis to be more on the UX side, more than human factors. Any ideas on what I could make my thesis question/project focused on? Thank you!

2 Likes

In my mind, human factors and user experience overlap. What are the differences as you define them? Or as anyone defines them? I think that would be your starting point.

1 Like

I agree. They overlap, when I look at it… Human factors is studying behaviors in response to services, products, etc… When I think of UX Research I think of uncovering a problem, insights through interviews, etc. But those insights come through studying behaviors…

So I really am looking for idea topics for a thesis in my project.

Why don’t you start us off with some ideas of your own first?

Post 10 ideas here, doesn’t matter how ridiculous they sound, and then we can build from that?

More reading here on how to work your ideas muscle

2 Likes

Could I email my ideas to your email? It’s in a document.

Would you be willing to share them publicly? I think that will help us help you better.

It’s a word document :frowning:

You can upload it. :slight_smile:

how about starting with ideas for the title of your thesis?

some interesting examples here
http://www.heartsofvision.com/24-winning-samples-of-thesis-titles-related-to-education/

It won’t let me upload a word document, so I just copied the important info.