How to work in a UX team that is totally remote

I was chatting with @Natalie_Eustace about topics of interest and she raised one that resonates with me so I thought I’d kick off a discussion.
[B]How to work in a UX team that is spread across different time zones and locations (and not get lost in emails). [/B]

This is close to my heart because I’ve been working in a series of remote digital roles for 7 years now. My day job as a community consultant is for a company based out of the UK. We’re a fully remote team spread across the UK, US and NZ (me) My colleagues are either 6 or 12 hours behind me. My second job (this one) is for company based in Melbourne, Australia, and the rest of the team are 2 hours behind me. To make this even more complicated, I work strange hours (5am - 3pm) in order to accomodate being a full time parent of young kids.

Challenging!

There are a few things that I’ve learned that help lessen the difficulties.
[LIST]
[]We use Slack and Hipchat to communicate. It cuts down on emails, keeps the conversations relatively brief, and means that we have visibility of ‘who’s online’ (so you know whether you’ll be waiting for hours for a response or not)
[
]I turn my Slack to DND when I finish work for the day, partly so that people know whether I’m around, and partly so I can maintain my focus on the kids when I’m off the clock. It’s important to me that I do both my career job and my parenting job to full capacity, rather than being half-assed at both (excuse the term)
[]Working slightly unusual hours works well for me because it means that I have crossover with other time zones
[
]I make sure that I schedule lunches and drinks with other remote-working friends frequently, so I don’t feel isolated
[]We have at least weekly (usually twice) meetings via Skype, to stay connected. At UXM we also have the occasional ‘Xmas bbq/drink’ via Skype, which is fun. In my last job I used to Skype in to the office for Friday pizza lunches.
[