How to start building a UX portfolio with zero experience?

I want to eventually become a UX/UI Designer. I currently have no experience in the field since my background is marketing. I’ve read on this site that experience often trumps education and strong portfolio of projects is important. How can I go about building my portfolio without a job in the UX/UI field?

Thank you!

Hey @justinnlorenc – welcome! :slight_smile:

You’ll find a whole lot of portfolio information by searching the portfolio tag.

One that might be particularly relevant to you is this one.

This article is also good – Point 6 covers your question.

Hope that helps! Feel free to ask more questions – as many as you like!

2 Likes

Check out Joel Marsh’s post How to Get UX Experience for more suggestions on getting experience and building a portfolio.

3 Likes

One thing I’d like to add is that it’s possible to make your own experience. When I was first starting in the design world, I made a point of creating my own projects that would broaden my horizons and give me something to show along the way.

My first big break came when the company I was working for began to recognize the need for better internal communications systems. I was working in a call center at the time, but took the initiative to learn a handful of development languages and design techniques, and began writing and reviewing code using Notepad and IE between calls.

My first go-round was absolute crap. As I refined my skills, I was able to build something that I was not only proud to put in my portfolio, but was able to pitch to my company C-Level management and end up with a promotion to design and development job (straight from the call center).