How to "show" the process when it is non-linear?

Okay, say I’m a project manager and ux designer for a platform with several large parts like photo galleries, document editing, view/edit permission systems, and profile creation and management.

This was done in a dual track agile type way, where the project was broken up into the type of sections listed above… idk what to call them… problem verticals? top-level features? areas? sections?.. and each section was then subjected to ‘mini-waterfalls’

• 1 week of research and team review
  • following 1 week of wireframing iterations and prototyping
  • following 1 week of visual design
  • eventually going into a development backlog.

this basically means chunks of ux work were done over the course of months. i’m not sure how to show my work as a ux designer in this situation. i can’t just ‘tell this story’ without heavily editing the chronology of the project, and not to mention, discounting the value of breaking up the work this way.

how would you show this? should i focus on a particular section that has a single coherent, and concrete story with presentable assets? i think i just answered my own question…

but even with this - i’m afraid of missing the forrest for the tree.

3 Likes

hi @mrcn

that’s an interesting question.
I really liked your iteration model or “design sprint”.
We do something similar based on a 2 weeks sprint though.

Coming back to your main question, due to the fact that you’re wearing the “UX Designer Hat” I would show the process from the “human/user” perspective

I would show a kind of a timeline where:

• the milestones are related to the user needs/problems you guys have tried to solve
  • For each milestone I would present the quick wins and the long-term solutions

What do u think of it?

3 Likes