How do you explain UCD and your role in it?

culture

You say potato I say…

My name is Ryan Roy and I’m a User Experience professional working at a university in south Florida. My current title is Visual Architect and it’s also UX/UI Developer. People in our field use a lot of titles, sometimes we’re called UX/UI developers other times Usability or Visual Architects even Information Architects. I’ve even seen one gentleman with the title UXDNNG. The whole profession goes by a number of different names that in the end really mean about the same thing. We speak for and defend the voiceless end-user. Unfortunately and not to our credit we have done little to educate the masses about what we do and why. For a profession whose job is to make things clearer and easier for the end-user we’re have to improve the way we educate the world on what we do everyday.
I’ve been working on a short way to explain to someone what user centered design is and how we do it… before they fall asleep or glaze over from the cognitive load. Here is what I have so far.

“I test web products with customers revealing flaws that prevent their ease of use. Then I make improvements and test again, repeating the process until ease of use is established.”

How do you explain UCD and your role in it in as few words as possible?

I also have difficulties with explaining what I am doing and what it’s value is. So it is interesting to me your answers too.

Hi @RyanRoy and welcome. :slight_smile:

Interesting topic. I think this is something that LOTS of new fields these days come up against. I find the same thing in community management/strategy circles. My parents don’t know what I do, although I’ve tried to describe it to them many times over.

We all want a job title or description that explains what we do, but we also want something standardised so that others can understand what it means. This is all great, except that there is no one standard role.

Your description is a good one.

Hi @RyanRoy