How could interaction design and photography be related?

I got an email this morning from someone asking about the possible connections between photography (a passion of his) and the interaction design he was studying at uni. Specifically, he asked: “What is your own personal opinion that (sic) connection between photography and interaction design?”

I thought I’d share my response here to try and kick off some further discussion that might help him get some better answers to his question. Please share your thoughts too!

Here’s my response to his initial email:
[INDENT][I]Hi Chris,

I studied cinematography, which I guess is really just photography in motion, and it has given me a great background for design, especially in user experience design (which I see as a superset of interaction design) because of the collaborative nature of the projects, a predominant focus on the audience’s perspective, and the way creative/technical outcomes need to be carried through to completion. These things could be true for both cinematography and UX, but seem less obvious in photography.

At a stretch, I guess you could say photography and interaction design (IxD) also share the language and psychology of visual communication, but that is still a pretty broad generalisation. For example, I don’t think you could expect a person skilled in photography to have many applied skills in IxD; the technical applications are too different - optics vs software tools. The aptitude or soft-skills might have some crossover, but that’s getting pretty broad too.