How best to work with my dev

Hi all. As someone with a basic knowledge of Photoshop, 1 week into a new job, I’m very new to this - yet have ended up needing to design an entire web based app. I’m hoping to get advice on my proposed workflow.

1. Buy this Bootstrap theme (because it has a ReactJS version, which is required): https://wrapbootstrap.com/theme/smartadmin-responsive-webapp-WB0573SK0

2. This theme does not come with PSD files, so I will use Photoshop to create an approximation of the theme style and lay up all the screens of the app.

3. I then upload all the screens to InVision and link them together, to create a working prototype.

4. As changes are suggested I will make them in Photoshop and sync those changes to InVision.

5. When the InVision prototype is ready I export the Photoshop files to Zeplin.

6. Because we are using a theme, at this point, the Developer is able to grab the theme assets / CSS and the like from the theme file. He would (I think) still need my Zeplin file for screen sizes.

Here’s what I am confused about:

• The Developer said “If you use assets from the theme, I just need to know what they are to use them” but, as per step 2 in my process, I think I am not necessarily using assets directly from the theme when creating my PSD files. I am using the PSD to indicate what theme assets to use but I don’t think I can use the theme assets directly since there isn’t a PSD file provided in the theme.

• If my photoshop file is building an InVision prototype but isn’t based on the actual theme assets - how do I communicate to the Developer which theme assets to use?

Apologies if the above isn’t clear - I’m learning and feeling my way with how to explain the question…

I think you might be making things a little bit more difficult than they need to be. This seems to stem from your use of what might be a few too many tools, but you may also be missing a key piece of what makes Bootstrap so attractive.