Guerrilla testing pros and cons?

Hello amazing UXers! I’m not a UXer by trade but I’m currently helping out with user testing for a project my team is working on.

We’ve been talking about some guerrilla usability testing on a prototype - we’re working on an online shop, but the client also has a physical space, so we thought we would try and catch people there. Just wondering if anyone has any thoughts on whether this is current good practice or anything like that? Obviously it’s not as rigorous as something like a moderated usability test but logistically it’s much easier to manage as we don’t have to worry about finding people, scheduling them, people not showing up etc.

I’ve been doing a bit of research on the interwebs, but if anyone has any experience/advice/resources to offer, I’d appreciate it!

TIA :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hi Natassja,
personally I would strongly suggest Guerrilla testing for two main reasons:

1. the user is in a neutral environment so she/he would not be intimidated by the “formal test environment”, plus she/he would not be hired for the test, so would not try to please the tester or try to demonstrate something. The gift usually is given at the end, to thank for the time.

2. Guerrilla testing is a cheap and effective way to find the major issue in the interface/system.
    It’s not the definitive solution but it’s really helpful and could give surprising and inspiring results.

Of course it has a lot of cons, it’s difficult to find the correct target, even if you’ll perform it in the same store of which you’re designing the webstore.

The tester should be careful in approaching people in the right way, usually is simpler in a places in which people is sat (as a cafe or similar) and is not going or doing something.